first president brown deed-of-incorporation-1892 dangar-chambers newcastle-streets

Constitution of the First Board

The Government was losing money on the water scheme, which was left to local councils to run, with loose oversight of the Department of Public Works.

In order to gain better control of the supply system and stem the debt accumulated on providing water to Hunter residents, the Colonial Government decided to establish a statutory Board for the water supply, reporting to the Minister.

The constitution of the Hunter District Water Supply and Sewerage Board was approved by the Government in 1892

The Board consisted of five official members, one of whom was President (Hon. Alexander Brown), and four municipal members from Newcastle, East Maitland, West Maitland and Morpeth Councils, all serving four year terms.

The functions of the Board were to assume the control of water supply works constructed in the Lower Hunter by the Government and municipal councils and go about recouping the money required to run the system

The first offices were located at Dangar's Chambers, Bolton Street Newcastle.